The Often Unseen God

The Often Unseen God

Wrist watches! It seems everyone of my generation wears wrist watches. To us, they are wonderful little companions. We never leave home without them. If perchance we do forget and leave home without them, we are destined to look at our wrists countless times during the course of day, all to no avail. We are addicted to them.

And some of us of more inquisitive minds (mostly little boys) have actually taken the backs off our watches to see what made them tick. Big mistake! But, have you ever seen the inside of one of those old fashioned wrist watches? Good Heavens! What an intricate network of tiny gears and springs and spindles are necessary to ultimately display the correct time of day. And furthermore, surely we must further realize that all those tiny gears and springs and spindles must be perfectly synchronized together as a single unit in order to achieve their desired purpose. I’m not herein speaking of various new fangled, time-keeping devices powered by modern day electronics, but old fashioned wrist watches that are valued by the number of jewels employed in their movement, the outward beauty of their appearance and/or the country of their origin.

But, I must admit that, for the most part, I couldn’t care less of what’s going on behind the scenes when I look at my little watch; I am only interested in the result. I simply want to know the time of day and it tells me—mission accomplished! That little itch has been scratched; and I am content for the moment. Otherwise, all that behind the scenes stuff is taken for granted.

Taken a step further, some of us have adopted the habit of ‘saying grace’ before our meals. Good habit to adopt! For Instance, consider the mundane task of preparing that meal. Today I made a simple pot of stew consisting mostly of common, garden variety vegetables. No big deal. But as I recited that little obligatory prayer before ravenously devouring about 3 bowls of that scrumptious concoction, I didn’t so much as give a second thought to all the ‘behind the scenes’ happenings necessary to put that meal before me. I had absolutely no knowledge of the perfectly synchronized journeys that each ingredient, the onion and celery stalk, the tomato and ear of corn and the potato, had to be taken in order to reach my kitchen at that exact moment in time. I gave no thought to the farmer who tilled the ground and planted the seeds. I didn’t thank God for the rain to promote the growth nor the bees that pollinated the blooms. I gave no thought to those who reaped the harvest nor those who brought them to market. As far as I was concerned, I was only interested in that eventual pot of stew—and it proved to be delicious. Mission accomplished.

Surely you must know by now where this little soliloquy is headed. That seemingly insignificant pot of stew is just one instance in the myriad of our daily activities that we simply take for granted. How often have we ever looked back at all the events our ‘unseen God’ brought about in order bring us to these particular times and places? Rarely? Yet, that’s the story of our lives. Our unseen Lord God is ‘always working to make all things work together for good in the lives of all us who love Him and are the called according to His purpose (Romans 8:28)’. Even the bad stuff? Yep! As Joseph told his brothers after they had double-crossed him, “You intended to harm me, but God intended it all for good. He brought me to this position so I could save the lives of many people (Genesis 50:20).”

Obviously, there are times when overt, seemingly unexplainable, unbelievable ‘coincidences’ happen in our lives which cause us to surmise, “It had to be a God thing!”, Well, of course it was! Sometimes I think He makes very visible cameo appearances in our lives just to remind us that He is always working out His plan in our lives. Just like God told Jeremiah, “For I know the plans I have for you,” says the LORD. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope (Jeremiah 29:11 NLB). King David also wrote, “O LORD my God, you have performed many wonders for us. Your plans for us are too numerous to list. You have no equal. If I tried to recite all your wonderful deeds, I would never come to the end of them (Psalm 40:5 NLB).” In God’s overall plan for us, nearly everything happens for a reason—a good reason!

But for the most part, I would venture that we are rarely aware of all the little incidents— incidents with seemingly no significance—incidents that we take for granted. Yet, they are incidents that are necessary ingredients in His overall plans. We fail to realize that in God’s plan, each day He gives us becomes a strand in the fabric of our lives. As in Joseph’s case, our loving Heavenly Father even uses the bad things to produce good things. WOW!

With that being the case, we are admonished to, “…give thanks for everything to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ (Ephesians 4:20 NLT).” Our often unseen God is always at work.

Leave a Reply

